The Lord of the Rings
Published by George Allen and Unwin
3 Total Books

This is a sequential series and is best read in order.

The Lord of the Rings recounts in full the history of the great War of the Ring. In that war, comparable to the great wars of our own time both in magnitude and in the issues involved, the Third Age of Middle-earth comes to an end. The Ring is the link with the earlier tale; for the ring that the Hobbit brought back from his adventure is discovered to be the One Ring, the Master of all the Rings of Power, now eagerly sought by the Enemy who made it. To its wearer it gives mastery over all living creatures, but since it was devised by an evil power, in the end it will inevitably corrupt anyone who attempts to wield it.

Mr. Tolkien says in his foreword: "This book speaks more plainly of those darker things which lurked on the borders of the earlier tale, but have troubled Middle-earth in all its history. It is, in fact, not a book written for children at all, though many children will, of course, be interested in it, or parts of it, as they still are in the histories and legends of other times (especially in those not specially written for them)."

Revised slightly from the dust jacket description of The Fellowship of the Ring
UK Spines with dust jacket
UK Spines without dust jacket
UK Cover with dust jacket
UK Cover without dust jacket
American spines with dust jacket
American spines without dust jacket
American cover with dust jacket
American cover without dust jacket

Books in this Series

The Fellowship of the Ring: Being the First Part of The Lord of the Rings
The Two Towers: Being the Second Part of The Lord of the Rings
The Return of the King: Being the Third Part of The Lord of the Rings