The History of Middle-earth
Published by George Allen and Unwin and Houghton Mifflin Company
12 Total Books

Edited by Christopher Tolkien

This is a sequential series and is best read in order.

The Book of Lost Tales: Part 1 is the first book in a twelve volume set called The History of Middle-earth edited by Christopher Tolkien, J.R.R. Tolkien's son, from the work Tolkien did world building for his Middle-earth books. The twelve volume series is divided into three sets. The first five books in the series deal primarily with the history surrounding Tolkien's book and creation story, The Silmarillion. The next four books focus on the geography, people and times in The Lord of the Rings trilogy. The last three books circle back to The Silmarillion and tie the story arcs together. 

UK Spines with dust jacket
UK Spines without dust jacket
UK Cover with dust jacket
UK Cover without dust jacket
American spines with dust jacket
American spines without dust jacket
American cover with dust jacket
American cover without dust jacket

Books in this Series

The Book of Lost Tales, Part 1
The Book of Lost Tales, Part 2
The Lays of Beleriand
The Shaping of Middle-earth: The Quenta, The Ambarkanta and The Annals
The Lost Road and Other Writings
The Return of the Shadow: The History of the Lord of the Rings Volume 1
The Treason of Isengard: The History of the Lord of the Rings Part Two
The War of the Ring: The History of the Lord of the Rings Part Three
Sauron Defeated: The End of the Third Age (The History of the Lord of the Rings Part Four)
Morgoth's Ring
The War of the Jewels
The Peoples of Middle-earth