Obadiah Books by Brinton Turkle
Published by Viking Press Inc
4 Total Books

This series of four picture books about a young Quaker boy named Obadiah started out as a sketch that author and illustrator Brinton Turkle drew of a Quaker boy holding a Valentine behind his back. Then, Mr. Turkle began to imagine the boy in the picture as a character in a story. He eventually visited Nantucket Island, and there he found a setting for his story about a boy who wants to become a pirate, Obadiah the Bold, published in 1965. In 1970, the second book in the series, Thy Friend, Obadiah, was awarded a Caldecott Honor for its soft and colorful illustrations that display the beauty of Nantucket and of the time period in the early nineteenth century. The combination of eye level and bird’s-eye perspectives helps tell the story from the point of view of both Obadiah and his new-found seagull friend. The other two books in the series are just as lovely and delightful as the first two, and children will want to read about Obadiah and his sister Rachel and their large Quaker family over and over again.

Spines with dust jacket
Spines without dust jacket
Cover with dust jacket
Cover without dust jacket
Example page

Books in this Series

The Adventures of Obadiah
Obadiah the Bold
Rachel and Obadiah
Thy Friend, Obadiah